Ricoh Women’s British Open: Same tradition different venue

After a 3-week stretch on tour the fourth major of the year for the LPGA is here. The Ricoh Women’s British Open will be played July 30th thru August 2nd at the Trump Turnberry Resort in Turnberry, Scotland.

In last year’s edition it was Mo Martin who took the win after making an eagle on the 72nd hole to finish 1-under par. Martin is known for her accuracy off the tee (89.2 %) and links courses suit her game perfectly. Some of the best players were still out on the course and Mo had to wait to be named the Women’s British Open champion. Suzann Pettersen and Shanshan Feng finished tied for second with even par.

The Ailsa course

The famous Ailsa course will host the event for the second time. In 2002 the British Open was played in this same course and it was Karrie Webb who took the prestigious title. The Trump Turnberry Resort has been the venue of major tournaments like The Open and the Senior Open Championship.

The course regularly plays as a par 70 at 7,204 yards. Its iconic 18th hole was named Duel in the Sun in 2003 for the memorable finish between Tom Watson and Jack Nicklaus in 1977.


High expectations

After having a thumb injury during the 2014 season American player, Mo Martin, is back to full fitness and ready to defend her title. Despite not having the best start of the season Martin has managed to finish inside the top ten on one occasion and within the top fifteen in two events.

Suzann Pettersen and Charley Hull are considered among the favorites for this week. Pettersen returned to the winner’s circle in June and finished tied for second at the Aberdeen Asset Management Ladies Scottish Open last week. While Hull, who won the LET Order of Merit in 2014, is considered to be one of England’s stars.

Ricoh Women's British Open - Day Four

LPGA World Top Picks

  1. Karrie Webb
  2. Mo Martin
  3. Suzann Pettersen
  4. Charley Hull
  5. Stacy Lewis

Stats to Know

  • Race to the CME Globe: 625 Points
  • Format: 72 holes
  • Purse: $3,000,000
  • History: This event was added in 1994 and became a major championship in 2001

Weather Forecast

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 10.51.48 PM

T.V. Coverage

  • July 30 ESPN 2 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET
  • July 31 ESPN 2 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. ET
  • August 01 ESPN 2 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. ET
  • August 02 ESPN 2 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. ET
  • August 02 ABC 5:00 – 6:00 p.m. ET

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s