Youngsters dominate the 2015 season

Truth is it is very much unlikely to see such a successful LPGA rookie class like the one seen this year. Starting with Sei Young Kim, who won three times this season and was honored with the Louise Suggs Rolex Rookie of the Year.

Ha Na Jang, finish 15th on the LPGA money list and with nine top 10 results. Minjee Lee and Alison Lee were also some of the distinguished class alumnus and finished 16th and 23rd on the LPGA Tour official money.

 There were eight teen-aged winners during the season, led by 17- and 18-year-old Lydia Ko with five wins. Others were Hyo-Joo Kim, 19, Minjee Lee, 18, and Brooke Henderson, 17, who was the youngest winner. Cristie Kerr, 38, was the oldest winner of 2015 and won twice (Kia Classic).

In Gee Chun, who won the U.S. Women’s Open at 19, is not an LPGA member but will join the talented teenagers for the 2016 season.

Should be noted that five of the top 17 players in the Rolex Rankings are LPGA rookies. The average age of the top 10 women is 23.5. This year’s rookie class add together six titles for the 2015 season.


2 thoughts on “Youngsters dominate the 2015 season

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s